opinion

Discuss dirt racing throughout Iowa.

opinion

Postby wantyourhelmetback » January 12th, 2018, 12:01 pm

In a race that has a one caution rule a car spins. Spotter and flagman see the spin but not what preceded the spin. The car spun like it had been hit from behind but contact wasn't reported. If you were working the race would you,

1. Send the guy who spun to the pits.
2. Send the guy who spun to the back by himself but still in the race since good chance it he didn't spin on his own.
3. Send both drivers to the back for what probably happened but wasn't actually see.
wantyourhelmetback
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4544
Joined: January 11th, 2009, 8:22 pm
Location: Iowa City Great to be back in Hawkeye country

Re: opinion

Postby Gravel Road » January 12th, 2018, 12:05 pm

1.

If you bring out a caution, you're done. Can't penalize other driver because you didn't see it happen. Sometimes it's unfortunate, but rules are rules and must be enforced.
Gravel Road
 
Posts: 2
Joined: August 6th, 2015, 8:06 am

Re: opinion

Postby J20in1st » January 12th, 2018, 12:57 pm

Unfortunately if he don't get it moving then he is gone by himself.
J20in1st
 
Posts: 3747
Joined: August 13th, 2009, 1:25 am

Re: opinion

Postby NTMID8R3 » January 12th, 2018, 2:19 pm

You spin & cause the caution, your done.

Can't always see everything & KARMA has a way of evening things out anyway.
Last edited by NTMID8R3 on January 16th, 2018, 7:10 am, edited 1 time in total.
Tony Ploog(NTMID8R3)
NTMID8R3
 
Posts: 460
Joined: January 12th, 2009, 1:56 pm
Location: Buckeye, Arizona(formerly Clinton, Iowa)

Re: opinion

Postby 72fan » January 12th, 2018, 2:26 pm

It can be a tough decision sometimes, but you have to go with #1 if that is the rule.
Warren Busse: The first liar doesn't have a chance!
72fan
 
Posts: 2736
Joined: January 13th, 2009, 9:34 am

Re: opinion

Postby melmorris32 » January 12th, 2018, 3:28 pm

You and another official are working a basketball game and a guard makes a steal at mid-court and is pushing the ball to the other end with a now defender in hot pursuit. You are both trying to catch up to the play as the player misses the layup. Do you.....?

1. Not blow your whistle and play on

2. Assume that there had to have been contact for him to miss the layup so you call a foul on the defender, or

3. Call a double technical and toss out a parent or two when they question your decision


Oh yes, and on the racing question I have to say that it warms my heart to see that nobody has chosen #2 or #3 yet :)
Don't be an AWP!

www.positivelyracing.com
melmorris32
 
Posts: 1493
Joined: January 13th, 2009, 8:00 pm

Re: opinion

Postby 93Nelson » January 12th, 2018, 3:51 pm

#1
Just a SportMod racer at Nelson Boys Racing
93Nelson
 
Posts: 280
Joined: November 5th, 2011, 4:08 pm

Re: opinion

Postby wantyourhelmetback » January 13th, 2018, 12:03 am

Mel, I have seen #2 called too many times in your scenario.

Glad to see so many people picking 1. Hopefully drivers and fans agree if and when it happens to them.
wantyourhelmetback
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4544
Joined: January 11th, 2009, 8:22 pm
Location: Iowa City Great to be back in Hawkeye country

Re: opinion

Postby snake60 » January 13th, 2018, 5:48 am

You have to call it how you saw it, unfortunately. Hopefully, you have enough officials working the race that they can call it correctly. It doesn't always happen so someone does get hosed. Replays are not an option.
Matt Brockert
snake60
 
Posts: 200
Joined: June 11th, 2009, 6:42 am

Re: opinion

Postby melmorris32 » January 13th, 2018, 12:56 pm

wantyourhelmetback wrote:Mel, I have seen #2 called too many times in your scenario.



I know, and that is why you would never go with either #2 or #3 in your scenario.
Don't be an AWP!

www.positivelyracing.com
melmorris32
 
Posts: 1493
Joined: January 13th, 2009, 8:00 pm

Next

Return to Iowa Dirt Racing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests